Interview with Alina Bliumis

12.10.2019

Author: Anastasia Runets

Translator: Darya Makavchik

A New York based artist Alina Bliumis presented her exhibition “Classification Patterns: Christian, Muhammad, Lee” in “Ў” Gallery of Contemporary Art on October 9.

Dadalog was lucky to be present at the opening and got Alina to share some insights about her motherland, as well as the image of a modern artist.

Alina Bliumis was born in Minsk and studied in an Art College named after I. Achremchik. She then moved to New York, graduated from the School of Visual Arts with a BFA and continued her education in Italy. There, in Komo, she got a diploma from an Advanced Course in Visual Arts in Fondazione Antinio Ratti. Nowadays Alina exhibits all across Europe and the USA; her individual works can also be found in both private and public collections all over the world.

“Classification Patterns: Christian, Muhammad, Lee” is Alina’s first personal exhibition in Belarus. It features her works from such projects as “Most of Us Are”, “Amateur Watching at Passport Control”, “My Soviet Childhood, He” and “My Soviet Childhood, She”. The exposition is curated by Irena Popiashvili and can be seen in “Ў” Gallery up to October 31. At the same time, another exhibition is currently held in Gallerie Anne de Villepoix (Paris). For more information about Alina Bliumis and her projects, please visit
her personal website.

Alina's Instagram - @alinabliumis

Anastasia:  When was you last visit Belarus?

      Alina:  Three years ago. For the first time in 26 years I came here and stayed for about 5 days. I was waiting for a good reason for visit, like some kind of exhibition or another cultural event, but nothing seemed to be happening. So I came just for the sake of it, to get a fresh outlook on things. And now this visit has become my second one.

A:  What do you feel coming back here?

     А:  Perhaps, I have a good impression in general, if impressions may even be described that way. Just like the other countries – the people are nice and it’s quite entertaining. Although at first the city seemed a bit empty, I can’t point out anything particularly negative.

A:  Where did you first go or perhaps still planning to go in Minsk?

      А: When I came here for the first time, I visited my school (an Art College named by I.Achremchik), then went to my grandparents’, the place where I was born. But this time I feel no need for such a nostalgic tour. I’ve only come for 10 days, to install and open an exhibition, and then me and my friends are going to museums – The National Art
Museum, The Savitsky Museum, The Memorial Museum of Zair Azgur – we have big 
plans, basically. One girl wants to visit the Cat Museum, another mutual friend of ours will hold an architecture exhibition at the Palace of Art, so that’s on the list as well.

Exhibition opening in "Ў" Gallery of Contemporary art

Н:  Do you monitor the development of art in Belarus and around the Post-Soviet area?

     А:  I read the news websites and I also have a subscription to Andrei Dureiko’s newsletter. Every month he sends out the announcements of what some Belarusian artists are up to, the ones who migrated, and collects some other information of the kind. So I don’t really monitor, I am just aware.

A:  What would you recommend a Belarusian artist who wants to reach the same level as international creators?

      А:  Let’s ask Irena about it, as a curator she’ll give a better response.


      Irena:  The main thing is to prepare a decent portfolio. You also have to keep an eye on international news in that area, make sure to read some publications. Be aware of the exhibitions that take place and which galleries may be interested in them; open-calls are launched quite often. And exhibit around the country, of course. Not necessarily in
galleries or museums: artists can hold a one-day exhibition or do pretty much anything to grab public attention. The curators themselves must become curious. They are the ones who help artists carry their works forward.

A:  Your exhibition touches upon the notion of a ‘global citizen’. Do you feel like one yourself? And why?

     А:  I believe so. Lately we’ve been discussing my origin quite a lot, like me coming from Minsk, though living in New York. I don’t want to be an American artist, but neither do I want to be a Belarusian one. I like that niche between the two cultures and the fact that I don’t completely belong to any of them. Is that being a ‘global citizen? I’d prefer the word ‘cosmopolitan’, although it used to be a curse during the Soviet times.

A:  How would you define a citizen of the world then?

      А:  It’s a kind of freedom, when you are beyond any possible concepts. As they say, when in Rome, do as the Romans do. So I don’t come to another country with my own orders. I rather observe how people live and try to adapt to their lifestyle. Different countries have different mentalities, and I am okay with that. People just have to be a bit more flexible.

A:  Do you think there is such a thing as a ‘non-national’ artist?

     А: I suppose there is. It’s much better to be unique and represent your nation, rather than “to be” national. Art is an international language. You should be able to explain your values in a way that is clear even beyond culture, and that is very difficult. There are tons of artists creating works only for their own little environments, where people already know and understand everything. But it’s also important to convey something to the viewer, who has no idea about you and your culture.

A:  Is ‘the viewer’ here simply anybody or the one having some kind of a background?

     А:  I feel like it can be anyone. It’s impossible to say that we are only creating something for those who understand what contemporary art is. It’s a very limited approach. I’m not even talking about any specific genres, I mean art in general. Lots of museums nowadays try to popularize art, while tourists come to cities just to visit the museums. Everyone can understand art. If no one does, chances are, it hasn’t been worked upon properly.

A:  Don’t you think that art may lose a part of itself if it becomes too widespread?

      А:  It will never become that widespread. To see a piece of art you have to actually come to the museum. This is an extra step and not an easy one to take. You can always read a book at home or listen to music in your car, but art requires going to a separate place. So its elitism isn’t always a positive trait.

A:  How do you maintain a sense of your own ‘self’ among all the names and averaged characteristics?

     А:  I want to share how this idea of working with statistics even appeared. I was talking to one Russian woman, who had a huge influence in the art sphere, and she was projecting European values onto African art. I found it quite amusing – the fact that I was born in Minsk, live in New York and keep talking about European values, about this culture. Europe itself is quite small, actually. So I became curious, what values does an average citizen have. My favorite questions to ask were what do people dream of and what do they dream about. The most popular night dreams were either falling or being publicly naked, and our deepest aspirations are mainly future-related. All these points – being 28, Christian, Muhammad by name, Ali by surname – are only true with a comma in between. Remove it, and such a person won’t actually exist.

A:  You work together with Jeff Bliumis quite often. What’s more challenging – working independently or cooperating?

     А:  We were working together for many years and things were going very smoothly. We’ve always had conceptual, I mean, idea-based projects. But when it comes to practice, we aren’t really on the same page. Now we work separately, and there is a certain charm to it. No need to discuss anything, just doing whatever we want. However, when it comes to the old projects, we do cooperate. Maybe one day we’ll work together again, but for now it’s just that kind of a phase.

A:  What’s next? Can you share any future artistic plans?

      А:  I’ll get back to work in a studio. I want to create something related to Belarus a bit.

A:  What does being an artist in New York feel like?

     А:  I feel like being an artist is amazing anywhere. It’s neither harder nor easier than in any other cities. Your work is always with you. Self-expression comes from within, regardless of where you are.

A:  Can a good artist be unpopular?

      А:  Of course. There even is a research, for example, if you open a 20-year-old Artforum and look at the most famous artists at the time, you’re unlikely to find any familiar names. Now you have no idea about these people. Fame is not something an artist should strive towards. And the same thing applies to art and making money.

A:  Should a modern artist create something new or reinvent the old? How would you define an artist and his primary goal?

     А:  There is no need in reinventing the wheel, however, you can still take a fresh look on things that already exist. The outlook itself should be new, not the product. It’s all about the ideas, and the main goal is self-expression. For me it’s something like a process, something happening in the mind – the idea, the view, the analytics. And an artist is the one who thinks, I guess. And this, of course, has nothing to do with drawing skills.

Интервью с Алиной Блюмис

     9 октября в Галерее современного искусства “Ў” открылась выставка нью-йоркской художницы из Минска Алины Блюмис под названием “Classification Patterns: Christian, Muhammad, Lee”.

     dadalog был на открытии и поговорил с художницей о Беларуси и о том, кто такой современный художник.

     Алина Блюмис родилась в Минске и училась в гимназии-колледже искусств имени Ахремчика, а потом переехала в Нью-Йорк и поступила в BFA, School of Visual Arts и получила диплом Advanced Course in Visual Arts in Fondazione Antonio Ratti в городе Комо (Италия). Выставляется в Европе и США, ее работы находятся в частных и публичных коллекциях по всему миру. 

     “Classification Patterns: Christian, Muhammad, Lee” - первая персональная выставка Алины Блюмис в Беларуси. В нее вошли работы из проектов “Most of Us Are”, “Amateur Watching at Passport Control”,  “My Soviet Childhood, He” и “My Soviet Childhood, She”. Кураторка выставки - Ирена Попиашвили. Посмотреть экспозицию в Галерее современного искусства “Ў” можно до 31 октября. Одновременно с этим у художницы проходит выставка в Galerie Anne de Villepoix в Париже. Больше информации об Алине Блюмис и ее проектах вы можете найти на ее сайте.

Instagram Алины - @alinabliumis

Настя:  Когда в последний раз вы были в Беларуси?

      Алина:  Три года назад. За 26 лет это был мой первый приезд, и  я провела здесь около пяти дней. Я все время ждала, когда будет какая-нибудь выставка или культурное событие, по поводу которого я бы приехала в Беларусь, но ничего не происходило и я приехала просто так, посмотреть на все новыми глазами. Это мой второй приезд.

Н:  Что чувствуете, возвращаясь сюда?

     А:  Впечатления хорошие, наверное, если такими терминами вообще можно описать впечатления. Как и все остальные страны - хорошие люди, интересно. А в первый раз мне показалось, что город очень пустынный, но ничего негативного я сказать не могу.

Н:  Куда первым делом сходили или собираетесь сходить в Минске?

      А:  Когда я приехала первый раз, то сходила в свою школу (прим. ред.: Гимназия-колледж искусств имени Ахремчика), к бабушке с дедушкой, в место, где я родилась. В этот раз делать ностальгическую экскурсию уже не надо. Я приехала на 10 дней, сначала монтаж и открытие выставки, а потом мы с друзьями пойдем в Национальный музей, в Музей Савицкого, в Музей Азгура, посмотреть мозаику в городе и поехать в Хатынь, в общем - у нас большие планы. Одна моя подруга хочет пойти в Музей Кота, еще наша общая подруга делает во Дворце искусства выставку, посвященную архитектуре, туда мы тоже пойдем.

Н:  Вы следите за развитием искусства в Беларуси и на постсоветском пространстве?

     А:  Я читаю новостные сайты и подписана на рассылку Андрея Дурейко. Он каждый месяц присылает анонсы того, что делали белорусские художники, которые уехали, и собирает другую информацию о белорусском искусстве. Так что не то чтобы я слежу, но знаю.

Открытие выставки в Галерее Ў

Н:  Вы следите за развитием искусства в Беларуси и на постсоветском пространстве?

     А:  Я читаю новостные сайты и подписана на рассылку Андрея Дурейко. Он каждый месяц присылает анонсы того, что делали белорусские художники, которые уехали, и собирает другую информацию о белорусском искусстве. Так что не то чтобы я слежу, но знаю.

Н:  Что делать белорусскому художнику, если он хочет выйти на международный уровень?

      А:  Давайте зададим этот вопрос Ирене, потому что она куратор и сможет на него ответить.


      Ирена:  Самое главное - подготовить хорошее портфолио. Следить за международными новостями в этой сфере, читать публикации. Смотреть, какие выставки проходят и знать, какие галереи ими бы заинтересовались, потому что галереи часто проводят open-call. И делать выставки здесь, конечно. Необязательно в галереях и музеях, можно сделать однодневную выставку или что-то такое, чем они привлекут внимание. Важно заинтересовать кураторов, они помогут художникам показать свои работы в разных местах.

Н:  Ваша выставка касается понятия «гражданин мира». Вы сами себя ощущаете гражданином мира? И почему?

     А:  Думаю, да. В последнее время мы часто обсуждали, что я художница из Минска и живу в Нью-Йорке, о национальной принадлежности. Вся выставка посвящена государственной символике. Я не хочу быть американской художницей, но и белорусской тоже не хочу. Мне нравится эта ниша между культурами, нравится,  что я не принадлежу стопроцентно ни к одной, ни к другой. Это и есть гражданин мира? Слово “космополит” мне нравится больше, хоть оно и было ругательством в советское время.

Н:  Как вы определяете для себя это понятие? 

      А:  Человек мира - это своеобразная свобода, ты не скован понятиями. Знаете, как говорят, не приезжай со своим самоваром в гости. Когда я приезжаю в другую страну, с проектом или без, я не прихожу со своим уставом. Я смотрю, как живут люди вокруг и адаптируюсь. В разных странах разные культуры и я спокойно к этому отношусь. Надо быть немного более flexible.

Н:  Можно ли быть «ненациональным» художником?

     А:  Мне кажется, да. Хорошо быть индивидуальным и представлять свою нацию, но не быть национальным. Искусство - международный язык. Надо уметь объяснить свои ценности так, чтобы это было понятно вне твоей культуры. И это очень сложно. Есть много художников, которые делают работы, интересные только в их среде, потому что среда все знает и понимает. Но важно объяснить это зрителю, который ничего не знает о тебе и твоей культур.

Н:  Зритель - любой человек или тот, кто уже имеет какую-то базу?

     А:  Мне кажется, что любой человек. Нельзя сказать, что, вот, мы делаем только для тех, кто понимает современное искусство. Это очень ограниченный подход. Я не говорю про какие-то конкретные жанры, я говорю про искусство в целом. Многие музеи сейчас стараются популяризировать искусство, а туристы специально приезжают в город, чтобы сходить в музей. Искусство может быть понятно всем. Если оно не понятно никому, то, скорее всего, это недостаточно хорошо сделанная работа.

Н:  А вам не кажется, что искусство может потерять какую-то часть себя, если станет слишком массовым?

      А:  Оно никогда не станет массовым, чтобы увидеть искусство - надо физически прийти в музей. Это экстрашаг,который не всегда легко сделать. Почитать книгу можно дома, послушать музыку-в машине, а за искусством надо идти в какое-то помещение. Элитарность искусства - не всегда положительная характеристика.

Н:  Как не потерять чувство собственного ”я” в массе имен и усредненных характеристик?

     А:  Я расскажу, как вообще пришла идея работать со статистикой. Я разговаривала с одной влиятельной в сфере искусства женщиной из России и она проецировала европейские ценности на искусство Африки. И я подумала, что это очень забавно - я родилась в Минске, живу в Нью-Йорке и тоже постоянно говорю о европейских ценностях, культуре. А ведь Европа такая маленькая. И мне стало интересно, а какие ценности у среднестатистического человека. Мое любимое - о чем люди мечтают и какой сон самый популярный. Самый популярный сон о том, что человек падает или в публичном месте обнаженный. А мечтаем мы в основном в душе о будущем. Все эти пункты: 28 лет, зовут Мухаммед, фамимия Ли, христианин - через запятую это все правда, но если ее убрать - такого человека не существует.

Н:  Очень часто вы работаете в соавторстве с Джефом Блюмис. Что сложнее - работать соло или в соавторстве?

     А:  Мы очень много лет работали вместе и работалось очень легко. У нас всегда были концептуальные проекты, то есть, они основаны на идеях. Но когда дело доходит до практики - мы любим делать разные вещи. Сейчас мы работаем отдельно, в этом есть своя прелесть- не надо ничего обсуждать. Что хочешь, то и делай. Но если мы повторяем наши старые проекты, то работаем вместе. Может, мы и дальше будем работать вместе. Сейчас просто период такой.

Н:  Что дальше? Поделитесь творческими планами.

      А:  Я поеду работать в студии. Хочу сделать работу, немножко связанную с Беларусью.

Н:  Быть художником в Нью-Йорке - как это?

     А:  Мне кажется, быть художником замечательно везде. Художникам в Нью-Йорке не легче и не сложнее, чем художникам во всех остальных городах. Работа идет с самим собой. Самовыражение  идет изнутри независимо от того, где ты.

Н:  Может ли хороший художник быть неизвестным?

      А:  Конечно. Есть такое исследование, если вы откроете Артфорум  двадцатилетней давности и посмотрите на список популярных тогда художников, вряд ли там будут знакомые имена, сейчас вы их не знаете. Популярность - это не то, к чему должен стремиться художник. И если вы хотите заработать денег, тоже не стоит заниматься искусством.

Н:  Современный художник должен создавать новое или переосмыслять старое? Художник сегодня - кто это и какова его цель?

     А:  Изобретать велосипед не надо, но можно смотреть по-новому на уже существующие вещи. Нужен новый взгляд, а не продукт. Все дело в идеях.

Цель - самовыражение. Для  меня это больше процесс, происходящее в голове - идея, взгляд, аналитика. А кто это - мыслящий человек, наверное. Это явно не связано с умением рисовать.

Автор статьи  - Анастасия Рунец