Russian student in London:

About the real British rave and the potential

of DIY-culture

Article released together with 0922: Minsk 0 Side Records
Authors:
Polina Sturma, Ilya Gurin-Babayeu

The 80s and 90s in England are becoming the time of the birth of new sounds in music, the time of experiments. Club and dance music is gaining more and more attention and causing growing interest. Radio pirates capture roofs, music calls to forget about what is happening in a routine life. It was during these years when drum and bass attracted more and more fans and firmly established its position as a musical genre.

Drum and bass(or drum and bass; Drum 'n' Bass; abbreviated as D&B, DnB) is an electronic music genre that originated from rave and old school jungle in England in the 1980s and 1990s. Initially, drum and bass emerged as an offshoot of the British breakbeat, jungle and rave scene, when musicians began to mix bass from ragga with accelerated breakbeat from hip-hop. Some believe that there is no significant difference between the terms drum and bass and jungle. On the other hand, many people call the jungle the old records of the first half of the 90s, and consider drum and bass to be a significantly evolved jungle with new post-textual elements.

We decided to ask a couple of questions about this phenomenon to a student of the Goldsmiths, University of London, and certainly a follower of this trend, Dasha Kuznetsova.

Dasha's hometown is Moscow, but she has been living in London for two years. Here she has the opportunity to witness with her own eyes the development of one of the most multifaceted musical cultures in the world.

How did you get interested in this? (I mean, you just can tell how you came to this music)

Personally, I’ve always loved Britain for its musical achievements.

I’ve listened to the Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Rolling Stones and many others, but at some point even great music like this can become tiresome. One of my friends told me about drum&bass. Firstly, I did not actually 
appreciate it, but because of Apple Music algorithms I came to the dark side drum and bass music. After that, there was jump up dnb. It got my attention. Later I found out how to dance to this music and about its 
roots. That was a completely new experience in comparison with my 
previous taste. I felt as I became opened to completely new emotions that I’ve never experienced before.

What is the difference between British and Russian musical culture for you? 

It would be the same as comparing earth to the sky. They (brits) treat their heritage carefully. They love music and can devote theirs life’s to it.

“Americans have hip-hop and they will be proud of it for the rest of their days. We (the British) have jungle and drum and bass and we will be proud of it until death. ” 


(documentary "Music Nation Jungle Fever", 2014) 

I met a guy that works for a small British label (there are hundreds here). We went to a festival in Brighton where small labels as his were showing their groups. Almost every pub in the town was filled with live instrumental music and people. I asked my friend about the point of all that was happening and he did not find words to answer me, I mean, obviously, they did not receive much money for the show. The cost of the return single ticket is 30£ . All the group gets 20£ to share. Isn’t it the best answer? 

“I don’t think it got the respect that it deserves, the garage got out of the drum and bass, and then dubstep, if the jungle didn't exist, they wouldn't exist either.” 


(documentary "Music Nation Jungle Fever", 2014)

On the other hand, my other friend managed to pay for his first year at the university with the money he got for playing music with his band. I think that as in Russia every boy want to be a football or hockey player, so in Britain everyone wants to be a rockstar. Eventuality, you get a country where every third is a musician.

What does a real British rave look like and is it worth it?

To be honest, It’s not not as spectacular as it seems, unless you drink alcohol or take prohibited substances (that’s exactly what everyone does there). Same for London and Moscow, you get joy from rave on your own. Again, in both cities raves are happening in some king of abandoned buildings. Music, lighting, people are generally alike, it’s up to you how strongly you want to hang out. It’s worth noticing that british rave girls dress very openly, sometimes they wear only bikini. I haven’t noticed that in Russia. I suggest, that could be because of the cold temperature outside the clubs there. It’s funny how you don’t usually meet these people in your normal life. Seems like every British girl has a special shelf in her wardrobe just for raves.

Do you think it's worth going to foreign festivals and parties?

If you want to and can afford it, then definitely my answer is yes. Especially festivals. Actually, good festivals are happening only abroad. However, there is no need to become extra and go to every club in Europe on weekends. Not every party is worth it. From all festivals in Britain I would recommend Boom Town. It literally includes all the genres in the world (same as for Coachella). This year, headliners are System of 
a Down and Kiss. Personally, I really want to go to Let it Roll in the Czech Republic. This is the biggest festival in Europe. Honestly speaking, in Russia the only real festival I’ve been to is «Picnic Afisha»)

Thanks again to Dasha for this interview.
 

But let's see why we released this article. We want to show the potential scale of the DIY (Do It Yourself) culture, and encourage people around to create, and not be afraid that nothing will work out. After all, this is exactly how the jungle appeared at the time, which became one of the most striking examples of the original culture that has reached the masses.
 

We attach a playlist consisting of British music, from world-famous British bands of the 70s to all branches of the jungle and drum and bass of the early 90s.


Have a nice listening!

Русская студентка в Лондоне:
О настоящем британском рейве и потенциале DIY-культуры

Материал опубликован совместно с 0922: Minsk 0 Side Records

80-ые и 90-ые в в Англии становятся временем рождения новых звучаний в музыке, временем экспериментов. Клубная и танцевальная музыка обращает на себя все больше и больше внимания и вызывает растущий интерес. Радио-пираты захватывают крыши, музыка призывает забыть о происходящем в рутинной жизни. Именно в эти годы, drum and bass привлекает все больше поклонников и крепко закрепляет позиции как музыкальный жанр.

Драм-н-бэйс (или драм-энд-бэйс; Drum 'n' Bass; сокращённо D&B, DnB) — жанр электронной музыки, который возник из рейва и олдскул-джангла в Англии в 1980 - 1990-х годах. Изначально драм-н-бэйс возник как ответвление британской сцены брейкбита, джангла и рейва, когда музыканты стали смешивать бас из рагга с ускоренным брейкбитом из хип-хопа. Некоторые считают, что существенного различия между терминами «драм-н-бэйс» и «джангл» нет. С другой стороны, многие называют джанглом старые записи первой половины 90-х годов, а драм-н-бэйсом считают существенно эволюционировавший джангл с новыми пост-текстепными элементами.

Мы решили задать пару вопросов об этом явлении студентке Goldsmiths, University of London, и безусловно последовательнице данного течения, Даше Кузнецовой.

Родной город Даши — Москва, но она уже второй год живёт в Лондоне. Здесь она имеет возможность своими глазами наблюдать за развитием одной из самых многогранных музыкальных культур в мире.

Как ты заинтересовалась этим? Я имею в виду, ты просто можешь рассказать, как ты пришла к этой музыке?

Я лично всегда любила Британию за ее музыкальные заслуги.

Я слушала Битлов, Цеппелинов, Роллингов и дальше по списку, но в какой-то момент даже такая великая музыка начинает надоедать. Один из моих друзей рассказал мне про драм энд бейс (драндэбас как мы его зовем). Сначала мне не очень зашло, но потом, благодаря алгоритмам apple music, я пришла к dark side. Потом был еще jump up dnb. Ну и меня зацепило. Позднее узнала про то как надо танцевать под эту музыку, ее историю и корни. Это было что-то новое, сильно отличающееся от моего предыдущего вкуса. У меня как будто новые эмоции появились, о которых я и не подозревала.

В чем отличие британской и Российской музыкальной культуры для тебя?

Это небо и земля. Британцы заботятся о своем наследии. Они любят свою музыку и готовы посвящать этому жизнь.

«У американцев есть хип-хоп и они будут гордиться этим до конца своих дней. У нас(британцев) есть jungle и drum and bass и мы будем гордится этим до самой смерти.»

(документальный фильм «Music Nation Jungle Fever», 2014)

Я подружилась с чуваком который работает на маленьком британском лейбле (коих тут сотни). Мы с ним ездили на фестиваль в Брайтон(город на южном берегу Англии), где такие же маленькие лейблы показывали свои группы. Чуть ли не каждый паб в городе был наполнен настоящей живой музыкой с инструментами и людьми. Я спросила у друга: «В чем смысл этого?» — ,ведь явно денег много в этом не крутится, но он не знал что ответить. P.S. Билет до Брайтона туда обратно на одного стоит 30 фунтов(79 рублей). Вся группа за свое выступление получает 20(53 рубля). Мне кажется это лучший ответ.

“Я не думаю, что это получило уважение, которого оно заслуживает, garage вышел из drum and bass, и потом dubstep, если бы jungle не существовал, их бы тоже не существовало.»

(документальный фильм «Music Nation Jungle Fever», 2014)

С другой стороны, один из моих друзей тут оплатил первый год вуза (9 тысяч фунтов) только на своих сбережениях с группы. Но думаю как в России мальчики хотят быть футболистами и хоккеистами, тут все поголовно хотят быть рок звездами. Вот тебе и страна, где каждый третий — музыкант.

Как выглядит настоящий британский рейв и стоит ли оно того?

Если честно, это не так захватывающе как можно подумать, если не употреблять алкоголь и вещества (что делают абсолютно все там). Что Москва, что Лондон, удовольствие от рейва ты получаешь сам. Чаще всего рейвы проводят в каких-то заброшках, что там, что тут. Музыка, свет, люди в целом похожи, а то как сильно оторваться вы решаете сами.Но могу отметить, что в Британии девушки на рейвах одеваются очень открыто, порой просто в бикини. В России такого не замечала. Хотя, может, потому что в России минусовая температура за пределами клуба). Забавно, что в обычной жизни ты таких людей не встретишь. Как будто у каждой британской девушки есть отдельная полка в шкафу «чисто для рейва».

Как ты считаешь, стоит ли выезжать на иностранные фестивали и тусовки?

Если есть возможность и желание — конечно. Фестивали особенно. Да в принципе нормальные фестивали только за рубежом и проводятся. Но все же не стоит уходить в крайности и каждые выходные гонять в Европу в первый попавшийся клуб. Не все тусовки стоят того. Из фестивалей Британии могу посоветовать Boomtown. Там буквально есть все жанры на свете (как на Coachella). В этом году хэдлайнеры System of a Down и Kiss. Но я лично очень хочу попасть на Let It Roll в Чехии. Это самый большой драм энд бейс фестиваль в Европе. Но скажу честно, в России из настоящих фестивалей я была только на Пикнике Афиши.

Ещё раз большое спасибо Даше за это интервью.

Но давайте разберёмся, зачем мы выпустили эту статью. Мы хотим показать потенциальные масштабы DIY(Do It Yourself)-культуры, и стимулировать людей вокруг создавать. Ведь именно так в своё время появился и jungle, ставший одним из самых ярких примеров самобытной культуры, вышедшей в массы.

 

К данному материалу мы прикрепляем плейлист, состоящий из британской музыки, от всемирно известных британских групп 70-х до всех ответвлений джангла и драм энд бейса начала 90-х.

 

Must-have композиции от Даши и наши личные предпочтения.

 

Приятного прослушивания!